I’m a Prickly Mess

I’d love it if I could seem competent, pulled together or consistent.  Except that those people intimidate me. 

Looking back at prayer journals is a practice of mine… because sometimes the only way to make sense of life is to remind myself that “I actually prayed for that!”  Like when everyone around me is annoying me, and I remember that I prayed for patience.  Or when someone I love is struggling, and I recall that I had asked God to bring them closer to Him.  “Oh, that’s what’s happening,” I think.

When our struggles have biblical proportions, we’ve probably prayed God-sized prayers.  So it helps to look back at what I’ve prayed, to note that one day last week I simply wrote, “I’m a prickly mess,” and today I added, “Of course.  Help me.”  He will… but the way forward may not be pretty.  Remind me.

~ by Cary on April 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
