Diastolic Blood Pressure Drops

Today the Washington Post “Health” section was about the connection between religion and healing.  I loved this, by Manoj Jain, a physician… “Another study has even shown a sort of dose-response curve – the higher the church attendance, prayer and Bible study, the lower the average diastolic blood pressure — as if religious practices act therapeutically, almost like a blood pressure pill.” 

I’ll say that for me the only time my blood pressure went through the roof (think blood drive volunteers rushing for the telephone) was when I was working in a church. 

But generally I’ve found prayer to be much better than a blood pressure pill, and I can’t think of anything more therapeutic than the living word that separates bone from marrow.

~ by Cary on June 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
