Put Your Big Girl Panties on and Deal with It — Day Four

Let’s start with this: Does anybody actually like the word “panties?” Ok, that out of the way… it’s not a bad idea, this particular sentiment. I’m not sure why one would buy a coffee mug with this on it, unless that K-mart shopper needed a constant reminder of her adult responsibilities. I say “her” because panties are decidedly for women, right? So what would a guy do if he were handed this particular mug for his morning java?

ANYWAY… after a day of “eat, drink and be merry” it’s probably not a bad idea to “put your big girl panties on and deal with it.” If you’re just joining us (the proverbial us) now, the idea is this: to live each day for a week based on a catch phrase or aphorism that would commonly be found on a coffee mug for sale in a kitschy gift shop (think South of the Border, Myrtle Beach, Wall Drug).

Today after yesterday’s cotton candy, I sought out some serious whole wheat bread for breakfast. I hydrated. I rested. I focused. I prayed. I got serious. I went for a perusal of the years’ goals for good measure. My panties are on (as usual, I might add) and I’m “dealing with it.”

It feels good to deal with reality. The truth shall set you free, and all that. Just as it feels good to live in the concomitant freedom that is ours. No black-and-white. Grey plaid perhaps. No either-or. Both.

During a rough patch, I asked (no, begged) God, “What do you want me to do?” In his inimitably non-audible-but-nevertheless-clear way, God answered, “Rest, dance, pray. That’s about it.” And when Moses struggled with how he, his limited, stuttering self, would lead those recalcitrant Hebrew people another mile with pursuing enemies, God let him know, “You need only be still. I will fight for you” (Exodus 14:14).

Living merrily dumbed-down, dependent and safe. Living with the discipline of applying truth to our errant thoughts and strategies. Both. Grey plaid.

Panties on, dealing with it. But I just might wear my “Tuesday” panties (remember those products of some compulsive mind?) on a Friday. The world won’t end.

~ by Cary on July 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
