The Hand that Feeds Us

Some days I think of God’s hand as waiting to pluck me out of something I want and treasure, to move me over to another playground that I don’t like as much, so that I’ll have to share my toys with mean kids I don’t know.

Other days I remember that His unseen hand guides everything I do, and if He’s not leading me, I’d just as soon not go somewhere.

It makes me think of this verse in Acts 5: 38b, 39:

“Leave these men alone! Let them go! For if their purpose or activity is of human origin, it will fail. But if it is from God, you will not be able to stop these men; you will only find yourselves fighting against God.”

How much less pain and hassle we would encounter if we skipped the stuff that’s “of human origin” and just followed His voice.

Of course the challenge for all of us is seeking to have the humility that refuses to claim that we “hold the God card” and that we know exactly what His hand is leading us into and what His voice is saying. I’ve sure been guilty of being sure I knew something was “from God” and later seeing (and cringing at) my own arrogance.

1 Corinthians 4:4 says, “I may have a clear conscience but that doesn’t make me innocent. It is the Lord who judges me.”

Amen.

~ by Cary on July 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
