Conversational Snippets Overheard

I’ve always thought it would be a great exercise, in a writing workshop, to send people out to work as waiters and waitresses and then to have them gather one line of dialog from every table they stop at and interweave all the random dialog into a story.

So recently I was in a public place where a TV was tuned to, I believe, Days of Our Lives. And I only looked up at the closed captioning every once in a while.  And yet I read:

“I’m not sure it’s safe to trust you.”

“I’m your half brother.”

“Did you enjoy your coma?”

“That’s enough, Elvis!”

“You will tell me what you did to Blondie or I will hurt you.”

“injected with a paralyzing toxin”

And I’m left wondering who did what to whom, and why.

And I’m left wondering if all of us engage in conversational drive-by shootings wherein we don’t hit our targets, or we duck before anything connects with us, or we simply scatter buckshot everywhere without listening.  Some days it feels like that.

And, finally, I’m left wondering… do some people enjoy their comas?  Ah, TV.

~ by Cary on August 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
