“Friending” Jesus on Facebook

I’ve been studying Matthew 11:28-30 which says,

28Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.

29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

30For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

And I was reflecting on what it means to COME to Jesus.  Or to go to Jesus.

And it seems that whereas we are called to abide, to know Him intimately, to be in constant conversation with Him, to care about the things that He cares about (starting with the poor), we treat our relationship with Him more like we do a Facebook encounter.

I was convicted today that sometimes I “poke” Him to communicate that He has occasionally crossed my mind.  I “friend” Him to add Him to my list of acquaintances and hope someone will notice that I have more friends (or “friends”) than I did yesterday.  Perhaps I send Him a brief message to ask for something or to mention something in passing.  Or some days I write on His wall so everyone can read it, hoping people will notice that we are tight, Jesus and me, that we have a clever, conversational banter going on.

Yet I’m called to be with Him in green pastures beside still waters, to have my soul restored.  And that just might mean getting offline, being still and quiet, or digging deeper, getting to know Him, as revealed in the gospels, better.

Friend of Jesus?  What does that look like?

~ by Cary on September 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
