Sabbath, or “Bus Not in Service”

We’re designed for Sabbath.  It’s good for us to realize that the world goes on without us and that spinning the planets isn’t in our job descriptions.  And we chafe as if the commandment (as in “Ten Commandments”) were “mean, nasty and all kinds of stuff” (to quote Arlo Guthrie in Alice’s Restaurant which, let’s face it, has nothing to do with the Bible though it’s always fun in an election year).

Wait, let me digress a minute.  Perhaps creation care is part of Arlo’s message since he did get arrested for littering and that’s what started the whole crazy mess.  And that’s Biblical for sure.

Ok, back on track here.  At least on the track of non-tracks.  Or stepping out of the rat race.

You know those days when we want to put a sign on our heads for those around us to see, a sign that, like our city buses, says “Bus Not in Service?”  That means “Don’t even wave me down.  Don’t even think of trying to jump on.  This bus is not for you.  It’s heading for home or the shop or somewhere else… but it’s not for you.”

That’s the sign that goes on our heads (or pours out our ears with smoke) when we haven’t been respecting our need for Sabbath.

I know I’m at that “Freak Out” place when I start singing Gnarls Barkley’s Crazy chorus:

I remember when, I remember, I remember when I lost my mind
There was something so pleasant about that place.
Even your emotions had an echo
In so much space

or the chorus of The Fray’s Over My Head:

I’m in over my head
Stuck in the red
Somethin they said
Makes me think that I’m in over my head
Over my head
Over my head

I doubt I’d agree with all of the songs’ lyrics if I even knew them.  I just hear the choruses resonating in my brain ever since one of my daughters played Over My Head for me and encouraged me to ice skate in the green lake on my kitchen floor when I spilled four quarts of avocado soup just before a ladies luncheon.  Skate, we did!  So I love that song.

And it reminds me that I’m not the boss of this crazy life of mine, and I need to say, like Anthony Newley of old, “Stop the World; I Want to Get Off!” before someone asks me to get off.

God planned it that we’d hit that point about every seven days.  Seven’s the perfect Biblical number, about the right time to stop and smell the roses, hit the pillow, do nothing.

It’s a gift, not a curse, and I am glad!

~ by Cary on September 22, 2008.

One Response to “Sabbath, or “Bus Not in Service””

  1. Taking a rest is good, as long as Christians don’t go making it law. Galatians chapter 4 tells us we were set free from the law laid down at Mount Sinai, the ten commandments. We are under two laws, given in 1 John, to love God and to love our neighbor as ourelves. In the end, we find our rest in Christ.

Leave a Reply

 
