Y’all Know the Holy Spirit, Dontcha?

shalom-yallHanging out in a chain motel and in the New Testament this morning, I was reading John 14:7: “If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well.  From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

I prayed, seeking a way out of (or further into) the mind-bending concept of Trinity, of Father, Son & Holy Spirit.  I said, “God, show me how y’all relate.”

And it hit me… “Y’all. That’s the answer.”  The Trinity is/are a y’all.  A plural often used as a singular.  A singular plurality.    

If you’re from the South, you just KNOW what “y’all” means.  You have “ears to hear” such things, to borrow a phrase from Isaiah the prophet.

In a Wikipedia article on Southern American English, I found the following:

“When speaking about a group, y’all is general (‘I know y’all’) —as in that group of people is familiar to you and you know them as a whole, whereas all y’all is much more specific and means you know each and every person in that group, not as a whole, but individually (‘I know all y’all’).” 

This mumbo-jumbo illuminates my understanding of the Trinity. I indeed want to “know them as a whole,” and I want to “know each and every (person) in that group, not as a whole, but individually.”

A Southern-drawl theology that answers, in part, this morning’s prayer.  Thanks.

~ by Cary on November 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
