I’m Glowing in the Dark

I detest obligatory gift-giving, that process of “grabbing something” that you’re not excited about to give to someone who won’t be excited either.  Call me cynical.

To my mind the best Christmas presents are the ones you don’t expect. 

And this year I got the best present ever.  Yesterday I opened a package, and I found in it a note, a photo and a glow-in-the-dark Frisbee.  The note was from a dog.  The photo was of the dog, long dead. And the Frisbee was a replacement for my own glow-in-the-dark Frisbee, that that same dog chewed up in about 1970.  I was so touched.

When I was in elementary school, I had a best friend about whom I could write several different posts (and maybe I will).  We played all the time, and sometimes he was my hero and defender and other times he drove me crazy (he was not above putting carrots in my socks and locking me in the rabbit hutch).  ANYWAY, his beloved dog chewed up my brand-new Frisbee when I was about 10.  And I still remember the way it looked with teeth holes and slobber on it.  And how mad and disappointed I was.

So this very year when I spoke with my old friend on the phone, we talked about all the ways we had influenced each other as children and all the fun we had had.  Then I admitted that I was still a bit miffed at his dog for ruining my Frisbee 38 years ago.  We laughed together over my remembering that and over the fact that I’ve actually told each of my three children about it.

And so yesterday when the replacement Frisbee arrived, I cried.  It was one thing for my old friend to even think of replacing it.  It was another to actually carry it out.  I love surprise presents.  And I love thoughtful people.  And I love old friends.

The note from the dog said, “I’ll see you on the other side.”  And so when I do meet that dog in heaven, I will have forgiven him.  I’m thankful for restitution.  And I’m going out to play Frisbee.img_0165

~ by Cary on December 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
