Mamie & Ike with Lipstick, and Other Joys

Some days when the weight of the world is on my shoulders (nothing serious; just minor weight), there’s nothing to do but sing, “Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens… when the dog bites, when the bee stings, when I’m feeling sad… I simply remember my favorite things and then I don’t feel so bad.”

I have a computer file with a list of several hundred of my favorite things in the world, and it’s fun to drag out at times.  I’m perusing it, and “Aunt Bee and Opie’s Relationship” and “Forgiveness” and “Radio Preachers’ Voices” and “Banana Pudding” jump out at me today.

But I also have been making a visual file, and I gotta share it today.  For the benefit of you, my 3 readers.  

This week I found an awesome dish for sale (and it’s from Bainbridge Island, no less).  Since it was “20% Off Day” at my beloved Unique Thrift Store, I got it for $1.24 with tax.  And I think anyone would agree with its message: 

img_0306

And that got me thinking about my treasured Leave it to Beaver platter, bought in a track-side store in Durango, Colorado, near the Silverton-Durango train station.  And that got me thinking of the happy day with Mattie Burson and I went to a mall in 1976 to meet Jerry Mathers (as in “Jerry Mathers as The Beaver”) and Tony Dow (Duh!… Wally) and a lady in the crowd asked Beaver, during the Q&A time, “I heard you died in Vietnam.  Is that true?”  Hmmm….

img_0308

And that got me wondering where my “Mamie  & Ike Wearing Lipstick” (i.e. hand-colored lips) plate is.  I found it.  

img_03091

It was three-for-three on delights from the bowels of my cabinets, and I wanted to share the joy with y’all.  Somehow I can’t stop humming “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds,” for “Mamie & Ike in Lipstick” seems to fit the same tune.

I guess this falls somewhere between “You had to be there” and “It doesn’t take much.”  But I’m not feeling weighty anymore.  In fact, I’m feeling practically giddy at my good fortune in owning so many cool and useful accoutrements (and at getting to use that word).

~ by Cary on January 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
