Twirling in Worship

Today I visited a church that is not my usual one.  And since I have a policy to be FOR things and not AGAINST things, I’ll say that there were some really nice things about it.  I loved the expository preaching, the music was glorious, and there was such a nice mix of ages there.

And I really look forward to getting back to my own church next week.  We don’t meet on Super Bowl Sunday in a grand gesture of goodwill.  No, actually, we are not allowed to use our worship space on this one day a year, because we meet in the largest room of a homeless shelter, and on this particular day the men in the sheltered are feted with a large-screen Super Bowl party.  And I can’t think of anything better.

But the staid environment of the church I visited today left me wanting.  I’m not saying I’m against staid environments; I am firmly for them for the people that like them.  They are simply perfect.

But my favorite thing about my own non-staid church is the “twirlers.”  This is not an organized form of liturgical dance, or a particular type of music. It is a gut-level response of delight and — dare I say — worship that springs into life in the bodies of the youngest of our congregation, a group of kids six and under.  When the music starts, they simply start twirling and twirling and twirling, lost in a whirling dervish type reverie.  

It had always been delightful and charming… but when one of our youngest kids, newly turned one and newly walking, joined the bigger kids and starting twirling too, I realized that something was in the atmosphere and that we adults should be paying attention.  The joining-in of this littlest one made it seem that there was an implanted worship gene that meant that when we are attuned to God and His graces and all that He offers us, we will simply twirl and twirl in adoration and wonder.

I keep wanting to get up and twirl around with these little ones.  Being dignified is overrated.

~ by Cary on February 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “Twirling in Worship”

  1. I think the adults should be invited to join the twirling or at least come up front and sway to the music. There’s a reason that gospel choirs have an animation – they allow themselves to move and feel the joy of God down to their toes. Twirl on!

  2. Twirl away, woman!

  3. Your sharing was absolutely delightful. Thank you for sharing. I too enjoy the twirling of the little ones in our church. I would often get lost in the worship and picture myself twirling before the Lord and one day I opened my eyes and found that I was twirling. I am now the leader of the praise and worship ministry at my church. After much study of the Word, prayer, and seeking God’s direction the dance ministry was formed. So many have shared that they feel blessed when we minister so I encourage you to “Twirl On”!

Leave a Reply

 
