Intention vs. Passivity

What if we actually did what means the most to us instead of just letting things happen.  What if we actually spent time with the people we love the most instead of just letting things happen.  What if? What if?  What if?

Somebody I really loved died recently.  He was my plastic surgeon who put me back together after breast cancer.  I considered him a friend.  I considered him a God-send in the midst of the ordeal of cancer.  The appointments with him were a bright spot in a dark sky.  I occasionally ran into him at community functions or around town, but hardly ever.  I stopped by to visit him this summer but he wasn’t in the office.  Yet I considered him a favorite person. And he’s gone now, having died young and suddenly and unexpectedly.

I don’t know what to do with the fact that we have favorite people that we barely know and — sometimes — close friends that we don’t even like so much and we don’t do anything about it.  In terms of where we put our time and energy.  Or bothering to express to people that they are favorites.  Or working on the relationships that should be more but, frankly, aren’t.  We let it be.  And then it is.  And then it was.  And then it’s over.  A waste.

Or the issue of how we spend our time.  I’ve got wiggle room I don’t use.  “The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places,” as Psalm 16 says.  Yet I live as if I have no choice.  Up against the wall.  Tired.  Resentful.  Burned out right now.

Makes me think of that Bible verse about those who trust in men vs. those who trust in God and how they “don’t see prosperity when it comes.”  Ouch.  Jeremiah had it right.  Drought-resistant tree by a stream or parched bush in the desert… those are the results depending on which source of nurture and nourishment we choose.

I think it relates to living life in reaction to outside forces vs. intentionally choosing (based on freedom and in-touch-ness with our hearts) where we’ll go, what we’ll do and with whom.

Before it’s too late.

~ by Cary on November 1, 2009.

One Response to “Intention vs. Passivity”

  1. Cary, I loved this post, specifically the passage “We let it be. And then it is….” – beautifully written

Leave a Reply

 
