“What the Hell?”

I love New Year’s Resolutions, or “intentions” as my yoga instructor calls them.  The fact that I even have a yoga instructor reveals something about 2010 for me: that my new mantra is “What the hell?”  Or “Why not?”  Or “Might as well.”

When you’re turning 50 as I am, that seems a good time to say the aforementioned mantra and mean it.  It’s rather an “if not now, when?” sentiment.

I saw a movie on an airplane recently.  It was called Yes Man. The premise is that a guy with a dull life, depressed and apathetic, is challenged by his friends to say “yes” to everything that comes his way.  And he does.  I enjoyed it more than I thought I would, considering Jim Carrey’s facial contortions get lead billing.  Zooey Deschanel is in it, which is another reason to see it (I want to be her or have her be me, but that’s another story).  She says this line, ” The world’s a playground, and somewhere along the way everyone forgets that.”  The movie encouraged me to think about why I say “no” so often.  It usually has to do with inhibition, insecurity, my thighs or not embarrassing someone else who would or wouldn’t do some particular thing if they were me, which they are decidedly not.

And when someone asked me recently if my life had a tad bit more wiggle room in it than I thought, it jarred me out of complacency, leading to the year of “what the hell?”

I like it so far.  Join me.

~ by Cary on January 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
