Water, Water Everywhere and Not a Drop to Drink

“I spread out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land,” I read in Psalm 143:6 yesterday as I was waking up with my Festival of Faith & Writing morning-after hangover.  And I exclaimed (internally), “That’s it.  I’m thirsty; I need to worship.”

And I realized it was a Sunday morning, a fact that had escaped me in the stupor that had come over me as I had ladled out literary largesse into my hungry self for days.

And lest I sound ungrateful for a fabulous event that I will most definitely return to, let me say again that the assemblage of talent and generous people and interesting subjects and lists of “books I must read before I go to sleep tonight” is something to behold.  Which I did and will again.

BUT… I think we can all leave a Christian event or retreat and feel that we don’t need to go to church because we’ve done “God stuff” all week.

Yet the reason that Psalm 143:6 grabbed at my dry throat is that being about God is not the same as being with God.  And I mistake it all too often.  Until that dry-throat thing propels me to the ultimate fire hose of living water.

As an add-on to my trip to Calvin, I decided to swing through Indiana to go to a Gospel Festival concert at Earlham College. It was such a great antidote to all that God talk at FFW to have God focus at Earlham.  The Earlham student group, Gospel Revelations, performed (with wonderful Shenita Piper leading), and there were guest artists too (including DeWayne Woods, of whom I’m now a big fan: http://www.myspace.com/dewaynewoods).  There were believing people up on that stage, not just performers.

I danced and sang and clapped ’til my hands itched, but what I loved was that it was worship, urging people to a call and response that all Scripture ultimately calls us to (“I’m calling; how will you respond?”).

And with that unexpected worship opportunity, my week of Faith and Writing was complete, with the dessert of worship added to the meal of God-words.  Amen.

~ by Cary on April 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
