Business Cards that Drive away the Business

Ok, let me get your reaction.  If you get a new business card, and the first two people you hand it to start laughing, have you perhaps used poor judgment in the design of it?  Yes.   That would be true.

I was so excited about the idea of expressing a flowing fountain of ideas, like a fire hose or a steady stream of prolific abundance.  And so I designed a card with a faucet on it.

And yet my first contact who received one said, “Does this mean the well has run dry?”

And the second said, “Does this relate to that Bible verse about the complaining woman and the dripping water?”  I think it’s in Proverbs and says: “Constantly dripping water on a rainy day is like a quarreling woman.”

Hmmm… my “marketing” plan has gone badly awry.  Now we have a big supply of business-card-sized note paper at my house.

And a batch of super-cool new cards of a different nature.

Oh well.

Next time I’ll do the market research before buying 2000 new cards.  And I probably won’t pick clip art from the plumbing category.

~ by Cary on April 30, 2010.

One Response to “Business Cards that Drive away the Business”

  1. I feel that, almost made a few of these type mistakes myself a time or two, but luckily I have nosy assistants who pointed out the flaws before they cost more than time. Good luck to you in the future though.

Leave a Reply

 
