This One’s for the Girls, All of Us: Busting the Lies that We are Alone

Hearing Martina McBride’s song “This One’s for the Girls” produces a big lump in my throat.  And I always try to pay attention to something deeper behind anything that makes me cry (or want to).

Here are the lyrics:

This is for all you girls about 13
High school can be so rough, can be so mean
Hold on to, on to your innocence
Stand your ground when everybody’s givin’ in

This one’s for the girls

This is for all you girls about 25
In little apartments, just tryin’ to get by
Livin’ on, on dreams and spaghettios
Wonderin’ where your life is gonna go

CHORUS
This one’s for the girls
Who’ve ever had a broken heart
Who’ve wished upon a shooting star
You’re beautiful the way you are
This one’s for the girls
Who love without holdin’ back
Who dream with everything they have
All around the world

This is for all you girls about 42
Tossin’ pennies into the fountain of youth
Every laugh, laugh line on your face
Made you who you are today

Yeah, we’re all the same inside (same inside)
From 1 to 99

And I’m going to guess that the lump comes from something besides the fact that the songwriters stopped at age 42 (except for that brief mention of “from 1 to 99”).  Come on… is there not life beyond 42?

Anyway… I think what I love about this song is the idea of the commonality of experiences that we have.  We can all remember 13.  We can all remember 25.  And some of us can remember 42.

And yet at each age we reach, we feel that we’re alone in the dramas and the emotions of our lives, that no one has ever felt this awkward, this unsure, this disappointed as we feel now.

And that’s a big fat lie.  So this song gives me hope for women sharing the truth with each other that we all struggle, that we all wonder if we’re adequate, that we need each other.

And it makes me hopeful that women will remember when and offer to mentor someone younger.

This One’s for the Girls.

~ by Cary on June 21, 2010.

5 Responses to “This One’s for the Girls, All of Us: Busting the Lies that We are Alone”

  1. Well, you made me cry:-). Which is a good thing – love you, girl:-).

  2. This post hit strangely close to home for me – and I am so thankful for the women in my life who have mentored me this past year. What a blessing you are Cary! PS. This song is one of my favorites – my mom (especially), sister and I love it!

  3. Cary, I am Kathleen’s mom and I gave this cd to Kathleen and her sister when it came out. It resonated for all of us. At 62 and 33 and 36 , all of us “girls” need to share so we can benefit from each other.
    Blessings……….

    • Yes, and it really goes both directions doesn’t it? I love your daughter. Meeting her has been such a treat for me.

  4. […] blog, favorites: This One’s for the Girls, All of Us: Busting the Lies that We are Alone « Holy Vernacular. […]

Leave a Reply

 
