Toothpaste and Stranger of the Week

This week has been full of strangers, wondrously so, but I am going to save those reflections for later, as I am still musing on them, bizarre and wondrous encounters that they have been.

So the stranger I will focus on is a woman I met in the bathroom at Busboys & Poets in D.C.  I was brushing my teeth, as I am wont to do every few hours, and she said, “I’m jealous.”

I offered her a fingerful of toothpaste, feeling that sharing my brush was a bit too intimate and germ-infested for both of us.  She gratefully accepted.

And then we got into a conversation about the time when I hoped I was about to have my first kiss with the man whom I would later marry (i.e. my husband) and how I secretly brushed my teeth at the restaurant (which necessitated buying toothpaste at a nearby convenience store… long story).

After which she said that she hoped my shared toothpaste would bring her similar good fortune.

After which I urged her not to waste the kiss on the wrong sort of guy or the wrong sort of relationship, which would be a waste of toothpaste.

I’ve been wondering how the rest of her night went.

I love strangers.  And I love being old enough that you can give unsolicited relationship advice in bathrooms and people actually listen (or pretend to).

~ by Cary on June 28, 2010.

4 Responses to “Toothpaste and Stranger of the Week”

  1. I love this!

  2. 🙂

  3. Not quite at that magically mellow age yet myself, alas. Love this encounter.

Leave a Reply

 
