“Wipe and Flush” or Too Much Information

Maybe I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed, but I can leave a voicemail without an instruction manual.  When the recorded babe gives you all the options like, “To end the call, just hang up,” it makes me wonder when life got so complicated.  Isn’t this a bit like saying, “To finish up on the toilet, wipe and flush?”  I got it… at age two.

I’m guessing that AT&T is simply adding in some blah-blah-blah options so that each and every call helps to push us customers further towards exceeding our allowed minutes.  An extra 20 seconds of nothing adds up fast to billable minutes.

I was at Dulles airport last week, and when I entered the parking lot I naturally received a ticket.  But the ticket-dispensing machine also gave me additional instructions as to what to do after I pulled out my ticket.  It said in writing, “Now park.” WHAT?  Really… do I have to?  Why can’t I just stay and converse with this machine?

Are we this impotent and passive these days that we wait on machines to tell us to hang up or to go park?  This is a scary trend.

And it also fits the “water, water everywhere and not a drop to drink” theme of non-stop content, with rarely an edifying or illuminating nugget.  I don’t want noise all around me.  I don’t need to be talked to or talked at all the time.  I want to sit in silence.  I resent others deciding what the soundtrack is when I’m on hold or in line.

If I didn’t love my MINI Cooper so darn much, I’d refuse to go to the service department to take care of it.  My dealership has a room wherein I can wait for my baby to get fixed up, and in it are two televisions about 20 feet apart, tuned to two different channels (is it called “tuning” any more?)… one with in-house infomercials, one with annoying animated car movies. Both are loud, and when I ask if “we” can turn them off (or at least one), the mind blowing answer is that they are pre-set and can’t be changed.

So I guess I’m the only customer who doesn’t like two different soundtracks on at once?

Am I the only one who doesn’t need instructions for each of life’s banal chores?  I think not.

~ by Cary on June 30, 2010.

2 Responses to ““Wipe and Flush” or Too Much Information”

  1. Noise-cancelling earphones at the Mini dealership?

Leave a Reply

 
