A Maze of Grace, by Trish Ryan

I love it when my friends write books I enjoy.  Cause it’s so awkward to read one you don’t enjoy and then think, “Now what do I say?”  And because it’s fun to recommend a good book to others.

Trish is a talented writer and cool woman.  I met her at the Festival of Faith & Writing this spring.  We drank martinis, talked about books and met a guy who gave us Tater Tot shirts.  But that’s another story that’s already been told.

Today I’m telling about her second book, “A Maze of Grace,” which is a follow-up to her first, “He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not.” I read each of her books in a single weekend (and they are not pamphlet length).  They’re compelling memoirs of her search for a husband and Jesus, in that order, and her adapting to said husband and said Jesus, post-marriage.  She’s smart and funny; you’ll like her.

A few choice quotes:

“One of the best parts of my faith is that it allows do-overs.”

“I couldn’t figure out why people of faith so often encouraged each other to settle for something — an answer, a solution — that didn’t fit their longings?  Was it because we’re so uncomfortable with waiting?”

In speaking of evangelistic efforts towards people groups vs. individuals with whom we’re in relationship, Trish writes, “Here’s the thing, though: We’re not an amorphous blog.  We’re all in different places, spiritually speaking.  Some of us are close to God, some of us are far away, and if the heavenly roll call was taken tonight, I bet there would be some huge surprises.”

And here Trish quotes Lori Gottlieb from an article in Atlantic, a piece about “settling” in terms of romantic dreams:   “… Marriage isn’t a passion-fest.  It’s more like a partnership formed to run a very small, mundane, and often boring nonprofit business.”  This cracked me up.  I believe marriage is more, and so does Trish Ryan, as she goes on to expound, but this was a great, apt quote in many ways.

I could go on and on with quotes… but hopefully these few will entice you to read her books.  I enjoyed them.

~ by Cary on July 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
