Antidote to waking up on the wrong side of the bed

Some days it’s hard to find anything for which I’m grateful.  Maybe I got up on the proverbial wrong side of the bed.  Maybe my plans for the day have been foiled.  Perhaps I have a minor physical malady.  Or it could even be a case of generalized anxiety, where I’m not sure what’s not right, but life just doesn’t suit me.

On those occasions I have to dig pretty deeply to think of things to be grateful for, but getting out a spade just might yield the following:

  • I’m grateful I don’t have to jumpstart my car each morning (and that implies that I have a car, which I do, and for which I’m grateful).
  • I’m grateful my husband doesn’t wear his pants down under his rear-end with his underwear showing.  That’s not my favorite look.
  • I’m thankful I don’t clean toilets for a living.
  • I’m grateful I don’t have to ride on a wagon train if I want to go to California.
  • I’m deliriously happy that house pets include cats and dogs, not snakes and rats (and frankly I’m happy that I don’t have even a cat or a dog at this stage of life).
  • I’m happy that someone comes to pick up my garbage.
  • How thrilling that I can buy groceries in a building with walls and with heat (or air-conditioning) inside.
  • What a gift that there’s enough fresh food for all the shoppers in that same store — and that I can afford food.
  • I’m thankful that I don’t have to walk to (or pump) a well to get my water.
  • I’m delighted that I don’t have to wring a chicken’s neck to fix dinner.
  • I’m grateful that I have only spent one night in my life (so far) sleeping with a “pillow” that is simply a brick wrapped in muslin (and found it to be an adventure).
  • I’m grateful for cotton and wool instead of newspaper and cardboard covering me at night.
  • I’m amazed that I can put orthotic inserts into my shoes and have foot pain disappear.
  • I’m thankful that my doors have locks, and only I have the keys.
  • I’m grateful for due process, legal aid, and laws against discrimination.
  • I’m grateful for doctors and for funeral homes.
  • I’m delighted with public schools that saved my children from me as an inadequate home-school teacher.
  • I’m thankful I can speak up and not be shot down.
  • I’m amazed I can travel the world with no fear of not getting home.
  • I’m grateful for first-run movies, on their day of release, in my own town.
  • I’m thankful for food of almost every nation within miles of my house.
  • I’m amazed and humbled that I can live in ways I don’t deserve, with privileges I did not earn, in a country of unimaginable promise and opportunity – with no credit due to me for how I got here.
  • I’m grateful that I can know about and consider those who don’t have this much to be thankful for – and actually have the resources to do something for them (though I admit I often stop at good intentions and could use more follow-through).

Somehow creating such lists saves me from the whining and grumbling that tempt me to forget how good I’ve got it.

I’ll make a new one tomorrow if, as is likely, I forget.

~ by Cary on February 5, 2011.

One Response to “Antidote to waking up on the wrong side of the bed”

  1. Well said. I am grateful for all those things, too, but you did remind me that I just noticed yesterday that I (or some little child or the other) have misplaced one of my orthotic inserts.

Leave a Reply

 
