Exclaiming over Your Calendar

I just added an entry to my calendar, and if the truth is told (which it always should be), the entry signifies an event which I rather dread.

Yet when I typed it in to the handy-dandy MAC calendar, I accidentally added an exclamation point at the end. Since it would be rude and hurtful to delineate exactly which social engagement I am not looking forward to in upcoming weeks, let me use an imaginary one: “Root canal while hearing fingernails on a chalkboard while eating my least favorite food, celery!”

See… doesn’t that “!” just take the sting out of something unpleasant?  Doesn’t it make you look forward to it?  It does me.

This is the calendar version of “Rejoice always” in 1 Thessalonians 5:116, a passage which goes on to tell us that this is actually God’s will for us (something many actively seek to know), along with praying continually and giving thanks in all circumstances.

So I can assume that if it’s on the calendar, I can get on with it with rejoicing and gratitude (and some empowerment provided by prayer).

Amen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

~ by Cary on May 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
