Glory and Crap

A perfect illustration of life:

I was on a walk.  Feeling a little sorrowful (can sorrow really be experienced in an itsy-bitsy dose?).  Feeling a little wonderful.  The normal twin emotions of living between “now” and “not yet.”

The weather was (my) perfect — 68 degrees and breezy, and I was walking in an area with glorious high trees.  They were swaying in the breeze, rustling as I walked by.  I was arrested by the combination of that sight and what hit my ears.  Here’s what it looked like:

I had my iPod on a random shuffle and had probably been bouncing between Teenage Lobotomy and Chain of Fools, or some such combo, when a glorious segment of Bach’s Mass in B Minor came on.  It resounded not just through my earbuds but through my spirit. Listen in: 2-13 Osanna (Da Capo) (pretend you can watch the video along with it).  You get the idea?

I was so overcome in all of my senses, that I just decided to lie down and watch the trees, listen to the music, smell the nearby flowers, feel the cool grass, and not rush on.  And as I settled into a spot on the curb, I realized I’d put my hands in dog crap.

I actually laughed out loud.  It cracked me up.  For that is what life is like, isn’t it?  Our glorious times marred by, well, crap.  And our crappy times potentially redeemed and made glorious.

I love how life imitates, well, life.

~ by Cary on June 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
